I am currently working with local artisans in Jaipur, Rajasthan in India. I am learning traditional block printing using wooden blocks. Also, local block master made several blocks designed by me and inspired by my small son’s experience of India (…mom, look, there is an elephant! Why are these cows on the streets? I am sad, they are there all alone… Maminko, auto! etc.)
We are spending almost a month in India and it’s been very enriching and exciting experience, sometimes spiced by monsoon floods. My current project created here combines my new blocks in black outline and traditional colorful ones. The silk piece will be later used in new installation.

It is fascinating to see how the blocks are made and later used on saris, shawls and lahangas. The collaboration is facilitated by Devena Singh from ArtInn Jaipur, stay in art residency which brings international artists together with local artisans from different fields (miniature painting, block printing, blue pottery, marble carving, textile works…).

Devena is fascinating lady and great source of information and it’s been real pleasure to work with her and her people.

image

image

image

image

image

Block master's shop

Block master’s shop

Monsoon floods

Monsoon floods

