I recently visited artist Frank Sabatté’s studio in midtown.  Frank’s random stitch embroideries are beautiful works of art.  His portraits are a bit unusual.  It struck me how the faces take over the entire frame and beyond. The gaze is powerful, and the embroidery technique fits just perfectly. His brush is the sewing machine, and the random stitching his personal signature…

Sabatte5    Sabatte6

Sabatte2

Frank has been painting since he was a kid, and later in life he decided to study Theology.  I  always remember that he introduces himself as an artist first, then as a priest.

Sabatte4 

Sabatte3

Frank studied arts in China. He became an expert in tea as well, and I was honored to share a 25 year old tea with him.

Sabatte1

I feel literally “blessed”  I met artist Fr. Frank Sabbaté 🙂

