Dear Reader,

My name is Aisha. I’m an artist. I quit my day job to make art full time at the end of January. It’s been an interesting year full of amazing highs and lows. Below is an excerpt from my journal about my quest to become a successful small business owner. I hope it will be of some use to you, or at least provide entertainment.

Happy Reading,
Aisha

10/10/12
So I’ve officially been accepted into a cool artists’ collective called tART since leaving the day job. For those who don’t know tART, you’re reading this post on their blog, so click around the site to learn more about them. My membership has its privileges. For example, HUGE BONUS: It’s comforting (and pretty helpful) to be in a network of women who are facing the same issues and able to provide relevant advice.  Minor challenge: It also means I have to do a couple of projects to maintain my shiny new membership status…

How to squeeze in projects with my new jam packed self-employed schedule? Aargh. In a moment of multi-tasking cleverness, I decide to try picking a project that can help with some area of my fledgling business. “What would that be?” you ask? Good question. Wasn’t sure on that one… But then a lovely little mass email came around about doing blog entries and my aha moment presented itself: Blogging is an awesome way to motivate oneself to do drudgerous projects. Mainly because one becomes publicly accountable for writing about them. Blogging will help my fledgling business grow by forcing me to do annoying tasks I’ve been avoiding. (Seriously, I swear… it will…) I will start with bane-of-my-existence-nagging-task #1: Going for business counseling at this place ->

 http://newyorkcity.score.org/

Stay tuned for journal entry #2.

